Combined Chronology of the
Mahatma and Blavatsky Letters to A. P. Sinnett

Publisher's Note:

TUP's 2021 publication of a Second and Revised Edition of The Mahatma Letters to A. P. Sinnett prompted a revision of the letters' chronological order as well as that of its companion volume, The Letters of H. P. Blavatsky to A. P. Sinnett. Neither volume was arranged chronologically by its compiler, A. T. Barker, a task left to future researchers.

The present list is based on Margaret Conger’s Combined Chronology for Use with the Mahatma & Blavatsky Letters to A. P. Sinnett (TUP, 1939 and 1973), and compared with the Linton-Hanson Readers’ Guide to the Mahatma Letters (Theosophical Publishing House, 2nd ed., 1988) and other chronologies. Having today far greater access to primary sources, the sequence has been corrected where warranted, with the understanding that any chronology will be imperfect as most of the Mahatma Letters and many of the Blavatsky Letters were not dated by their authors or by Mr. Sinnett, who sometimes gave incorrect dates received. Although the Conger Chronology is no longer published, its Foreword, Preface, and Introduction are included here for their intrinsic value.

The revised Combined Chronology has been incorporated at the end of each letter in the HTML versions of the two volumes, while space limitations in the  print and pdf versions of the Mahatma Letters allowed only a chronological reference line for each letter in that volume.

The Mahatma and Blavatsky Letters Combined Chronology List of the letters and their writers below links to a PDF which can be downloaded and printed for convenient reference.

Mahatma and Blavatsky Letters Combined Chronology List (Revised 2023) — PDF

TUP Online Menu

Theosophical Society Homepage

Theosophical University Press, publishing and distributing theosophical literature since 1886: PO Box C, Pasadena, CA 91109-7107 USA; email:; voice: (626) 798-3378. Free printed catalog available on request; also online at TUP Catalog.

Theosophical University Press Online Edition